RSS

Guild Wars 2, One Year Later

28 Aug

Ok, so I had always planned to do an initial post of GW2 when it first launched but my life got in the way and I got lazy and a million other excuses. I have let this blog lapse horribly. I hope to not do that again, though. We shall see. Anyway, on to the real blog stuff.

I remember around this time last year, I was incredibly excited for the release of GW2. I was early access so I was playing the 25th. I remember the excitement well. I had been in the betas, but this was it, this was the real deal! I’m sure I made many high-pitched squeaking noises as I waited to be allowed to log in. I’d never admit it in person though. 🙂

I quickly made all the characters I wanted to grab the names I wanted. I got all names but one, but I did get my backup name which was really awesome. Naming aside, my boyfriend and I jumped into the game and I don’t remember how long we played for, but it was quite a while. We were both incredibly excited.

The first few months flew by with all the events and in game goodies. At first, the freebies were really spectacular. As the game progressed, they didn’t give as much away and made you work for a lot of the good things.

There’s been a bit of controversy over some things and there have been things and changes I didn’t like.

All of that aside, I am still really enjoying the game. At this time, I have 5 level 80’s and I’m working on my 6th. I have finished the personal story and I have just over 7k Achievement points. I have mastered all crafting disciplines and gained 100% world exploration on one character. I have not gotten as far as others, but I tend to be a little more casual than them. I am happy where I am overall.

The game could always use improvements, but I still have a hard time liking any other MMO out there enough to leave GW2 for good. The game isn’t perfect, but they must be doing something right to keep me coming back.

One thing that I have also found is that this community is probably the best gaming community I have ever been a part of. I have met friends from all over the world (thanks, in large part, to Twitter), been offered places to stay, been helped out of tight situations, and just made some really good connections. Regardless of gameplay quality, etc, you cannot deny that the good parts of this community are really good. There are bad parts, too, but I feel like the good parts outweigh the bad exponentially. I have had an overall positive experience with this community and I can’t wait to see what happens with it in the future.

I am eager to see where the next year takes us. Bring it on, ArenaNet! 🙂

Zephyr Sanctum

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 28, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
