RSS

Why I’m a gamer

13 Jul

Doing what friends do best.

A lot of people know that I come from a family of non gamers. They only thing I can really compare this to is being a witch born to muggles. (Harry Potter term in case you are unfamiliar)

Anyway, my mom and stepfather both think video games are a waste of time. My mom sort of knows I’m into them and I want to make a career out of it.

I haven’t gotten the question why yet, but here is my answer, should this topic ever arise.

The reason why I love gaming so much is not just because it’s fun. It’s because of the sense of community I feel when talking to other gamers. I also get to meet people from all over the world and from different walks of life. I have friends all over the world that I talk to on a semi regular basis. I know people in Greece, Singapore, Germany, etc. As well as knowing many people in different parts of the US (although I really wish they all lived closer to me hehe).

Sure, you could argue that I could find this anywhere else, especially with the internet being as large and accessible as it is. I agree with that, but the reason why I prefer the gaming community (and especially the mmo community) is that I relate to them the most.

We all have the most in common and I really like that. We are probably one of the most misunderstood communities as well. If the mainstream news is any indication, we still have a long way to go until we are portrayed in a better light (if that’s even possible at all).

I know I shouldn’t take it personally when mainstream media blasts us and portrays us unfavorably, but I wish some of them would do a bit more research beyond what they think they know about gamers.

Gamers aren’t always lazy and sit around the house eating cheetos and sucking down soda pop. I know a lot of gamers that are active, healthy, and contributing members of society.

Gamers are amazing people. They don’t just think of themselves or their video games. There have been numerous fundraisers done through gaming, some of which I have participated in (Pink Day in LA, Toga Party). The gaming community has shown that they have tremendously big hearts. There have been many more fundraisers and good deeds done by gamers. As a whole, they look out for each other and others that need their help.

Granted, not everyone in the gaming community is awesome, but that’s another blog post for another time.

A good portion of the gaming community is awesome, though. Even the reactions I’ve seen to bad stuff happening to people in the community warms my heart and gives me hope. I don’t think it will ever be perfect, but I think it will always be pretty darn close.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 13, 2012 in Blogging, General Gaming, Thoughts

 

4 responses to “Why I’m a gamer

  1. Nick Campbell

    July 16, 2012 at 9:08 pm

    I really like what you said here. I can honestly say that i wouldn’t trade my gaming life for anything else. I love everything about them. And so do all other walks of life. I read an article that my mom showed me about the types of people who play WoW it was doctors athletes parents young and old. Everyone does our has played games once in their life and the world still turns for them. Again will said.

     
    • Jeshe

      July 16, 2012 at 9:25 pm

      thanks Nick 🙂

       
  2. hugo

    August 6, 2012 at 10:57 pm

    Are you a wizard?

     
    • Jeshe

      August 7, 2012 at 10:29 am

      Maybe. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
